Another Great Fall Weekend

This weekend was a beautiful fall weekend in Portland.  I know people say it’s rainy and cloudy in Portland but I am not sure I agree….it’s been pretty sunny so far.  Anyways Dave and I were both pretty tired after a busy week although I had a pretty awesome Friday.  I gave my students an intro to Software Applications (I know I sound like a nerd but I actually really like teaching computers because then I get to learn more about them:) and the Word aspect of it had them write 10 sentences about themselves.  It was so eye opening.  I have a very diverse group of students who come from all over the world.  I have students from Figi, Somalia, Tonga, and Mexico to name a few.  The students shared with me some really personal pieces of information, but what I really liked was getting to related to the students on that personal level so quickly.  It was pretty amazing and made me realize how blessed I am to be working with these students.  At the end of the day another teacher recommended this place called Gravy that Dave and I should check out.  Since it was in the Alberta Arts District, a place in Northeast Portland that we wanted to go to we decided to go there.  After I finished my 13.2 mile marathon training run we biked up there.  The bike ride was through these beautiful neighborhoods and aside from the terrible hill I had to bike up….Dave of course made it up effortlessly it was a pretty great ride.  The restaurant was amazing – check out the yelp review right here: http://www.yelp.com/biz/gravy-portland . I had eggs and this amazing biscuit and Dave had eggs and chicken and gravy.  Sounds random but oh so good.  We then walked around and went to the Rebuilding Center http://rebuildingcenter.org/ .  This place is an amazing organization that has helped people all over the world like New Orleans, not just Portland.  Read up on it – the place is huge.  We then biked through the rest of the Arts District and ended the afternoon with a nice beer at Belmont Station http://www.belmont-station.com/ which has over 1200 beers.  Overall another great weekend that ended with a nice chat with an old friend:)  I have to say while it’s hard sometimes to be so far from family I can’t imagine a better place to live….:)  And on that note it’s off to some reading for me and Happy Birthday to our sister Christie:)  Wish we could be with you:(  Happy Monday!

Categories: regular | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

