Our Story

5 years ago today I married my best friend…and I couldn’t be happier.  I thought I would tell the story of how Dave and I met on our blog today.  We met my freshman year and Dave’s sophomore year although our stories might differ a little:)  Dave and I had mutual friends.  My good friend Morgan was good friends with Dave’s friend Jason.  During the month of January I was working at the Deli in the dining commons.  I guess Dave saw me making a sandwich and he likes a girl who can make a sandwich so he mentioned to his friends that he thought I was cute.  I often wonder what he saw because I was literally wearing a hat and an apron:)  Anyways throughout January Dave’s friends teased him a lot about the sandwich girl and I would occasionally get random calls out of cars while walking around campus.  I still had no idea who he was but I finally met Dave on Valentine’s Day.  My friend Morgan and I went to visit Jason and Dave was there bouncing a basketball.  Now I thought this first meeting would go well since I knew he thought I was cute….and I was looking pretty hot.  No instead he kept bouncing the basketball.  It was pretty strange and I left thinking nothing of it.  March came around and my wing that I lived on was doing a group date.  I had no one I wanted to go with so after talking with Morgan and my roomate I thought hey why not call Dave.  I called and left him a message.  Well he called later after he worked up the courage to call – sweet right?  We talked for a while about lots of things but one thing I remember was Calculus.  See a man after my own heart:)  I didn’t really know what to expect but i figured we could at least talk.  The date was random and had some hide and seek thing in the library.  Dave and I instead talked the whole time and looked our names up on the internet.  We ended up hanging out for the whole night complete with Steak and Shake…we went to college literally int he middle of no where.  When I got home all I could think about was I hope he calls me again.  He did even asking me to help him get his mom a birthday present.  After spring break I was head over heals for him.  I know it’s strange but I knew even then that he was unlike anyone I had ever dated and I wanted to be more than BFF:)  The only problem was Dave was studying abroad the next semester in Lithuania and we weren’t sure if that would work having a long distance relationship so soon.  We lucky for us we took the plunge.  Who would have known that 8 years later I am still head over heals for him.  Dave is everything I dreamed of and more.  This past week I have seen him exhibit more wisdom that I thought he ever had all the while reminding me that he just wants to take care of me.  No one makes me laugh more, causes me to take adventures and enjoy life than him.  You are my best friend and I can’t wait to see what the years bring us.  He truly is my blessing from God.  I love you Husband – wifey:)

Categories: regular | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

