Caprese Salad and Portobello Mushroom With Lemon Aioli

Dinner tonight:

When I saw that our box from the CSA this week had basil and tomatoes I knew I had to make a Caprese Salad.  I follow my own recipe of a container of tomatoes, a bunch of basil, and 8 oz of fresh mozzarella.  I then drizzle balsamic vinegar and oil and season with 21 seasoning salute (a trader joe’s specialty), salt, and pepper.  So good and so fresh.  The tomatoes were my favorite.  I decided I needed to make Portobello mushroom sandwiches to go with this so I went searching for a recipe this afternoon a perk of being off:)  I found this: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/portobello-mushroom-blue-cheese-burgers-with-lemon-aioli-and-bitter-greens-recipe/index.html and then I modified it a bit.  I used their marinade and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours another perk of being off – letting food sit in the marinade.  I then sautéed some onions from the CSA while the mushrooms sauteed.  I then flipped them over gill side up and let them finish sautéing while letting the cheese (I chose medium cheddar from Tillamook a local dairy farm in Oregon) and onions melt into the mushroom.  I finished by serving the mushrooms on Ezekiel bread.  If you have never had this bread it’s amazing.  I did end up going with the Lemon Aioli which I was a little nervous about but it was pretty awesome.  

Categories: regular | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

