Portland Marathon

As I am sitting here in my warm bed working on school work for my grad class and school work for my classes to teach tomorrow it is hard to believe that I ran a marathon this morning.  Yep I ran my fourth marathon today.  I am sure you are all dying to know if I am sick of them yet or if I am still going to run another one.  Well don’t worry today further solidified how I can’t wait to run another one:)  I know I am sick but I had the best run ever today so I can’t wait to do it again.  I have been training for this marathon since this summer although if you know me you know that I am an avid runner and had a great base so I didn’t start doing official long runs until August.  I wasn’t sure how this one was going to go especially after the exhaustion I felt from my whirlwind wedding weekend that included a half marathon….but that weekend was so worth it.  Also this is the first marathon I have done as a full fledged vegetarian.  Best decision ever for me at least.  Anyways I tapered this week and yesterday Dave went on a two mile run with me:)  We also weather proofed our house.  We put up all of our screens and storm windows and painted our back deck with weather sealant.  Seems like not a lot but those windows were a beast.  So glad they are up and that yesterday was nice because it’s raining today:)  Anyways I made an awesome veggie pasta and salad last night in preparation for today.  I got up at 5, ate a cliff bar, drank a ton of water, and then Dave graciously drove me downtown.  I know he is the best.  I was in corral A which was awesome.  My goal was to break 3:20 so being logical I lined up with the 3:10 pace group. I have tried this before and it didn’t quite work for me but I went for it.  The race was awesome.  I have never ran a marathon in my city and it was great to be familiar with the sites.  A couple of tough hills but I am pretty used to them now.  I saw Dave at mile 20 which was awesome and it was right by my high school.  I stuck with the 3:10 pace group until about 22 miles and then slowed down a bit.  I also stopped for a 50 second bathroom break.  I won’t go into details but let’s just say that I used bushes over a porta potty since none were near and it definitely saved time:)  I had a terrible cramp in mile 24 but it went away and I sucked it up for the last mile.  Official time: 3:13:56.  I am beyond happy with that as it was a 6 minute P.R. for me.  I am pretty sore now and smelled so bad that Dave had to roll the windows down and put heat on:)  Best part of the race by far was seeing Dave at the finish line and then hugging him.  Something about him watching the races and being my biggest fan is pretty amazing.  The Portland marathon overall was amazing.  I have run Boston and Chicago which are incredibly well run and this ranks up there with them.  Also I got a shirt for running, a finisher shirt, a tree to plant, and a rose.  Portland rocks.  I will leave you with a picture that Dave took of me while I am going to go and walk to the bathroom a task that will take me quite a bit due to how sore I am:)

Me with my running swag – the tree to plant and my rose:)

Categories: regular | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

