T-tests and the Little Things

I know funny name for a blog right?  Well not if you are a math teacher:)  Or if you are collecting and analyzing data which I have been doing for the last 2 months for my last ever grad school project.  I have slowly well I guess quickly been plugging away at doing my masters at Western Governors University.  It’s an online university and I recommend if you are self-motivated or if your husband is in his last semester of grad school and is in class 3 nights a week until 10:30 (like last semester):)  This combined with me doing this all summer has led me to my last class.  I have been doing a crazy research project that included a lot of information and teaching of a method by George Polya to my students.  Everything is done and now I am writing up my results stage 5 and 6 of 7 stages for this project.  Tonight I was doing a t-test which tests whether or not there is any difference in my data collected.  Now I think this stuff is really interesting and I have done it by hand in my stats class in college but that was quite a long time ago.  Thank you you-tube for showing me how to do it in Excel and thank you students for creating a difference:)  I really just ran into our living room to tell Dave that I had a p-value that was statistically significant and yes folks he knew what I was talking about:)  I know we are nerds but I love it.  It’s the little things that make my day.  Now off to enjoy my Saturday night of rain, a fire, a clean house, fresh made tofu, and a glass of wine.

Categories: regular | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

