Friday Ramblings

Wow it’s been a week since I last posted….sigh it’s been one of those weeks.  Last week I was beyond exhausted to be starting school and finally got some great sleep this past weekend.  This week has been good including my second to last night teaching night school.  While I enjoy those kids having a 13 hour day on Mondays will be something I am glad to eliminate.  Onto some random notes:

My amazing breakfast:

I have had this the last two mornings and it has rocked my socks off.  I made my own version of overnight oats by doing the following the night before:

1/2 c oatmeal – I used Trader Joe’s which is a little more expensive but organic and fresher

I then poured probably 3 Tbs of keifer – I eyed it and maybe a little more than 1/4c of soymilk. Then I added a Tbs of Chia Seeds.

I mixed it up and then put it to set overnight in the fridge.  This morning I added 2 small scoops of peanut butter.  Wow it was really good.

My School:

I left this morning at 6:30 and it was pitch black outside.  I love when I arrive either by the bus or car and see the sun rising and knowing that I get to work at this school.  It’s not always easy but I can honestly say that I really really enjoy working here.

The Olympic Marathon Trials:

It’s no surprise to anyone that I am obsessed with running.  I just signed up for my 5th marathon and am also obsessed with following my fair share of runners.  I am not ashamed to say that I will be up at 6am tomorrow to follow the live coverage of the trials.  Here are my picks:

Shalane Flanagan – She’s a favorite of mine and got 2nd place at the New York City Marathon in 2010.  She also lives in Portland and trains at Nike

Desiree Davila – She got 2nd place at the Boston Marathon last year and has the fastest American Time.  She trains with the Hanson Running Project and I think she is a bit of an underdog who also got a front page spread in Runners World.

Kara Goucher – I have always been a fan and she also lives in Portland.  Kara had a baby within the last 2 years and has struggled a bit to come back but she did post an awesome PR at the most recent Boston Marathon so I have high hopes.

My Wild Card: Jeannette Faber.  Who is this runner you may ask?  Well Jeannette and I actually went to high school together.  She was a junior when I was a freshman and we always went 1-2 for our team – she was the 1 if you were wondering:)  She had to move away the next year but we still kept in touch through different meets.  I lost touch with her after that but we reconnected through facebook in the last 2 years.  She is an amazing runner who now lives in Portland!  I have run with her a couple of times – a long run I could keep up with speed work not so much:)  Anyways I am so impressed that she is doing this and she is ranked 26th or which is awesome.  I am pulling for a third place finish for her.

Happy Friday everyone.  I will be back with more posts this weekend which I hope is a 3 day weekend for everyone:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

