Skiing

This past Monday Dave and I both had the day off.  I get a lot of holidays off but Dave usually gets the same ones off due to working for the bank – got to love that:)  We both decided Sunday night that we would go up to Mt. Hood to go skiing.  We have wanted to go skiing for a long time but last year we were both busy with getting our Masters and this year we hadn’t gotten any snow up until last weekend.  Sunday night we made the decision to cross country ski instead of downhill because it was cheaper.  If you follow me on facebook you know this decision was reversed once we got to the mountains:)  Last year Dave and I got a friends and family coupon to go to the employee store for Columbia where we both got new ski coats and snow pants.  I rounded up all of our materials including ski gloves and multiple hats.  We got up at 7 on Monday morning because before we went to the mountains we had to get chains for our tires.  I have always scoffed at chains because I thought hey I have driven in snow storms in the Midwest no big deal.  Let’s just say I am very very glad for chains and now realize that driving a mountain in the snow where nothing is plowed or iced is completely different.  We got on the road after buying our chains and drove for about 40 minutes.  We live about 50 miles from the mountain base which is amazing.  We had to stop and put on chains about 5 miles before Ski Bowl which is where we were skiing.

Our tires with chains.

We continued on our way with our chains and saw some amazing views.

Once we got to the Mt. Hood at Ski Bowl East we saw everyone downhill skiing and immediately changed our minds:)  We are suckers for being in the moment.  We went and rented skies, boots, poles, and then bought some ski goggles.  We were then on our way.  Now let me preface that I have never gone downhill skiing.  Dave has gone once maybe twice a long time ago.  I have gone cross country skiing but this is completely different.  I knew I was in for a rough time but let’s just say I wasn’t quite prepared for how many times I would fall or how much of a total body workout skiing would be.

In the background is the main ski lift and to the right side is ski bowl east.

Overall I had an amazing time.  I fell a lot, I did multiple somersaults which included me not being able to get my skies back on, I was scared of the ski lift, and I ate a lot of snow but it was amazing.  I wanted to stop after an hour but Dave convinced me to go the whole time which was almost 4 and a half hours:)  I felt like I was flying.  Below I have multiple pictures of us and a movie of me:)  Let’s just say Dave was an amazing skiier although I expected no less.  It was an awesome time and I can’t wait to go again sometime soon.

Me and my goggles:)

Dave and I on the ski lift

Dave on the ski lift

The position I spent half my time down the hill

Overall what a great trip.  We made it home despite driving through a snowstorm on the mountains – so thankful for those chains:)  I was sore for awhile but I am good now.  Awesome day, awesome beauty that God has created….couldn’t ask for a better MLK Day:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

