The Start of Spring Break

Today is the start of my Spring Break although it really started on Friday at 3:30 when I and the rest of the students and staff hightailed it out of school.  Let’s just say I was ready.  Saturday morning Dave and I slept in and woke up to SUN!!!!!  Unlike the rest of the world that has been having amazing weather we have not here in Portland.  It has been rainy and 40’s for weeks.  Saturday it was as if the world woke up here.  We decided to go to brunch at Petite Provence.  This is a local french restaurant in Portland.  We have had pastries there and I have been to brunch there with my parents but Dave had not.  It was awesome.  Great coffee, croissants, and wonderful poached eggs.  We came home and attached our yard.  We decided to go to dinner at Yakuza Lounge.  We had a google offer there and I have to say I would not go back in the future.  Yakuza is an Asian Lounge with an Asian Fusion theme.  To be honest they need to get rid of their Asian Fusion and just go with a fusion theme.  The meal started with an awesome salad that we split.  Everything there is meant to split.

The meal was good after that but it was over priced.  I still had a great time with Dave:)  We also watched the Girl With The Dragon Tattoo that night.  I have read the first book in the series and Dave is in the middle of it.  I have to say the book was better than the movie.  It was okay but really long and I thought they could have done a better job developing some of the characters.  Overall it was good just not great:)  We did get to rent it from Itunes.  I really liked this option especially because we had a gift card.  This morning I got to sleep in and go for an 11 mile run.  It’s sunny and beautiful out and I am ready to go and clean the house.

I am also participating in a 7-Day Green Smoothie Challenge.  Jen from Peanut Butter Runner is hosting this and since I have free time to actually make smoothies I was really excited.  I make smoothies a lot in the summer just not as much during the school year.  Here’s what I made:

Green Smoothie Bowl

1/2 c Greek Yogurt

1/2 to 3/4 c Frozen Blueberries

1 scoop chia seeds

1/4 c soy milk

whole leaf of kale tore into tiny pieces

splash of strawberry keifer

I combined all of these and blended.  It was so good.  I topped it with the homemade granola bars I made last night found here.

Off to go clean and then do some shopping for birthday gifts on Hawthorne this afternoon:)

Happy Monday!

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Start of Spring Break

  1. Pingback: 7-Days Of Green Smoothies…The Aftermath

  2. Ooh, I’m going to have to try this!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

