Last Day of Spring Break

Today was the last day of spring break….sigh back to school on Monday although I to be honest I am really looking forward to it.  While I have loved this week off, being productive, and running a lot I am ready to get back at it.  Home stretch at this point with only 2 months left:)  For my last day off I had something special planned that I hinted at the other day.  I went for a long run and then got ready for my appointment.  For Christmas Dave got me two awesome gifts.  First was a shoe dryer something every Portland runner or Pacific Northwest runner needs.  It’s a life saver and is quiet and dries my shoes perfectly.  The other thing Dave got me was a gift certificate for a tattoo.  Yep after my one this summer I was hooked.  So I went in this morning to check on the design.  Let’s just say I am super pumped as the artist did an awesome job designing…wait for it…

Yep it’s an owl:)  Kind of random but exactly what I wanted and I will be getting it next Friday on my right shoulder.  After that I went back home and just relaxed as it was still raining….Portland:)  If you follow me on Facebook you’ll know that I randomly saw one of my friends in runner’s world…because she is an amazing runner and they profiled her!  Jeannette Faber – first woman from the US in the Chicago marathon and was on my 4X800 relay team in high school.  Pretty awesome.  I decided to end the day with a little baking.  I normally don’t bake because it will sit for days without us eating it.  I decided to make Oatmeal Cookies and used a recipe from Annie’s Eats.  They taste and look pretty great.

While we’ll eat only a few I figured they would be a good treat for people at school on Monday as well.  I also experimented and used a vegan butter substitute:

This butter substitute is awesome and I really like the earth balance company which makes their products plant-based, vegan, made without artificial ingredients or hydrogenated oils, and are free of gluten, lactose and eggs.  While I am not a vegan I do like most of the ideas of that type of lifestyle.  I just really like eggs and cheese:)  Someday maybe but I will stick with being a vegetarian for now.  I highly recommend the products at Earth Balance if you are able to try any of them.

Off to enjoy the weekend with the husband.  Happy Friday!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Last Day of Spring Break

  1. Happy weekend!! I LOVE owls, that tattoo will look amazing!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

