My Attempt at Gardening

It has been way too long since I have last posted.  School has just 3 short weeks left and I am feeling it:)  This weekend was a great time of relaxing that we both really needed.  Dave has mostly finished painting our upstairs trim.  It was an eggshell color that was turning a little pink so we refreshed it with some white paint.  It’s a huge job something Dave did awesome at:)  While he did that on Saturday I stuck to the outside.  I weeded, cleaned up debris and transplanted some of my tulips.  I also got my one raised bed ready to be planted in.  I am not the best with plants but I am determined to do better this year.  Thanks to a friend here in Portland and some wise words from the owners of our CSA I decided to stick with seedlings that were already grown instead of the actual seeds.  I did though use seeds for my herb garden and I planted some wildflower seeds.  Here are my results:

ImageDirt for my herb garden

 Image

The herb garden complete with sweet basil, chives, and parsley and my wildflowers

ImageMy garden complete with red and green peppers, squash, zucchini, cucumbers, tomatoes, and fennel.

Image

My wild rhubarb

ImageOur roses are starting to bloom

Image

The backyard porch

We still have more we want to do and plant but I am loving what we have so far.  Three day week this week for Dave and I.  I am running my marathon on Saturday at 7am so we are leaving on Friday to drive to the coast.  Hope everyone had a great memorial day and truly remembered those who have served for our country.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “My Attempt at Gardening

  1. Sandy Moore

    Wow! What a change you have made to your backyard. I love your garden with zucchini and peppers. You will love grocery shopping in your backyard. The porch area has a warm feel to it. I bet you can’t wait to entertain with friends back there. I wish we were coming this summer for a visit. You never know what God has planned though.:) You two have down a great job with your place!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

